Devonshire Scream: A Tea Shop Mystery by Laura Childs

Reviewed by Caryn St. Clair

Devonshire ScreamAuthor Childs treats readers to the seventeenth Tea Shop mystery with Theodosia Browning as the protagonist in Devonshire Scream. In this edition of the series, readers don’t have to wait long for the action to begin. The book opens with Theodosia and her crew catering a trunk showing at a high end jewelry store.

Click Here for More Information on Devonshire Scream

While Heart’s Desire Fine Jewelry Shop is holding a trunk show a gang of robbers drive a vehicle into the store, clear out the cases and leave. Unfortunately, the niece of the store owner is killed in the heist. Theodosia gets involved in the search for the robbers because she was at the event and her friend who owns the jewelry store asks her to look into the crime. Soon it becomes apparent that is more than just group of locals pulling a one time heist. The crime is soon linked to similar crimes committed across Europe and in Miami. The Charleston Historic District becomes especially concerned because the Historical Society is an event which will feature a Faberge Egg. Drayton, the tea-master of Indigo Tea Shop is on the board of the Historical Society which has the upcoming event giving Theodosia another reason to nose around.

I always enjoy a trip to Charleston to visit Theodosia and company even when she pushes the limit of good judgment as she did numerous times in Devonshire Scream. At one point she breaks into someone’s home looking for evidence which was definitely pushing the limits. And later she first uses herself as bait in an attempt to catch the thief and then inexplicably, after deciding her plan is too dangerous puts Haley in the same situation! Still, the book was a solid entry in the series and fans will surely enjoy the book.

As expected, there are recipes. “Tea Time Tips” from the author and a list of sources or more information on teas. Also there is an excerpt from the author’s upcoming release of Little Girl Gone, a thriller written under the name Gerry Schmitt.

I received this book in exchange for my honest review.

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.