Mystery and Thriller Books

    In association with

Death Message by Mark Billingham (Review #2)

Reviewed by Gina Metz

Death Message by Mark BillinghamDeath Message begins with Detective Inspector Tom Thorne receiving a picture on his cell phone of a man who has been murdered. Thorne begins an immediate investigation to determine the identity of the murdered man in the picture, who sent him the message and why it was sent to him.

Thorne continues to receive pictures and the bodies start piling up as Thorne and his team work frantically to stop the killer. Early in the investigation Thorne realizes this case is somehow related to a psychopath he tracked down earlier in his career.

In Death Message, Detective Sergeant Dave Holland is active in the investigation and Thorne also finds time to help DI Yvonne Kitson with a stabbing investigation she is leading. Phil Hendricks, the medical examiner and Thorne’s good friend, is also a lead character in this book. Thorne is also continuing his rocky personal relationship with DI Louise Porter.

Death Message grabs the reader from the very beginning and makes one want to read it all in one sitting. It is the seventh book in Mark Billingham’s Tom Thorne series. While it is not necessary to read the previous books in the series to enjoy this book, I would highly recommend that you read the series in order. In my opinion, Death Message is probably the best in the series. I have enjoyed the complete series and look forward to many more books by Mark Billingham.


    Leave a Reply

    You must be logged in to post a comment.